account takeover and new-account fraud increases

In 2012, the total losses resulting from account takeover and new account fraud each rose by approximately 50% over the previous year. These two fraud types impact consumers most severely, and are historically more difficult for FIs to prevent and detect than any other major fraud type. One of the fastest-growing areas of fraud is so-called “new account” fraud, in which criminals use information stolen from consumers to open credit card accounts or gain credit for cars or high-end consumer goods such as furniture or home theater systems. That type of fraud rose by 50%, with more than $10 billion in losses, according to Javelin’s 2013 Identity Fraud Report, released today. For eight years, Javelin has evaluated the top 25 FIs by deposit size based on their consumer‐facing security features in the three fraud stages of Javelin’s Protection, Detection, and Resolution Model.

Javelin’s security research found that 5 of the top 25 FIs prohibit the use of the Social Security number (SSN) to authenticate a user’s identity, up from none in 2011. Javelin found that five of the top 25 U.S. financial institutions no longer use Social Security numbers to authenticate a user’s identity. Law enforcement officials say Social Security numbers are the Holy Grail to I.D. thieves, so taking them out of the equation is a big security help to banking customers.

While this represents a major improvement, 20% adoption is still distressingly low, especially with account takeover fraud at a seven‐year high. Yet, a promising consumer empowerment trend is finally gaining momentum among FIs – 40% of FIs are leveraging customers’ unique knowledge of their own financial behavior to prevent fraud by blocking types of transactions the customer knows he or she would never initiate. User-defined limits and prohibitions (UDLAPs) are a powerful security supplement to behavioral and transaction monitoring.

Fraud prevention is a winning security strategy to both attract and retain account holders, as consumers strongly value security when choosing a new institution and the perception of security is a critical factor in attrition.

“The best security model is one where FIs and their customers partner together in securing financial accounts,” said Al Pascual, Industry Analyst – Security, Risk & Fraud at Javelin Strategy & Research. “By focusing on educating and engaging the consumer in security authentication decisions and procedures, the FI can most effectively prevent attacks and threats from plaguing their valuable customer base.”

While early detection, efficient and comprehensive resolution may mitigate the impact of frauds which have already occurred, successful prevention deflects fraud attempts, reducing the costs associated with detection and resolution.

Javelin Strategy & Research’s 2013 Banking Identity Safety Scorecard evaluates financial institutions on their ability to prevent, detect and resolve emerging threats and attacks on their customers. It is based on the analysis of the top 25 financial institutions, by deposit size, based on their consumer‐facing security features and two online surveys of more than 11,000 consumers.

135 thoughts on “account takeover and new-account fraud increases

  1. Hi, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at

    your blog in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it

    has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads
    up! Other then that, great blog!

  2. Today, I went to the beach front with my children. I found a sea shell and gave
    it to my 4 year

    old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and

    screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is

    entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  3. Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an
    established blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not

    very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own
    but

    I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Appreciate

    it

  4. I have been surfing on-line more than 3 hours as of late, yet I
    by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours.

    It is lovely price enough for me. In my

    opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made

    good content material as you did, the internet shall be much
    more useful than ever before.

  5. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading
    it, you will be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your
    blog and

    may come back very soon. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great work, have a nice day!

  6. whoah this blog is magnificent i really like reading your articles.

    Stay up the great paintings! You

    recognize, lots of persons are looking

    round for this information, you can aid them greatly.

  7. This design is wicked! You definitely know how to

    keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,

    almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than

    that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  8. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came to
    “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use some

    of your ideas!!

  9. Good site! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the
    data are well written.

    I’m wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed

    to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a great day!

  10. Hi there, just became alert to your blog
    through Google, and found that it’s really

    informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue

    this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  11. My brother recommended I might like this website.

    He was entirely right. This post

    actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  12. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know
    a few of the

    pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure
    why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in

    two different web browsers and both show the same outcome.

  13. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic

    but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting tired of

    WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I

    would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  14. This is the proper blog for anybody who wants to search out out about this topic.
    You

    understand a lot its virtually exhausting to

    argue with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You positively
    put a brand new spin on a topic thats been written about for years.
    Nice stuff, simply great!

  15. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be what precisely I’m

    looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing

    a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write

    about here. Again, awesome web log!

  16. I wanted to draft you that little bit of note to say thanks a lot as before
    for

    all the wonderful strategies

    you’ve documented at this time. It is tremendously generous with people like you to give

    extensively what exactly a few people could

    possibly have made available as an electronic book in making some cash for

    their own end,

    most notably since you could possibly have done it in case you desired. The thoughts

    in addition worked as the easy way to comprehend other individuals have similar interest the same as my own to find

    out a great deal more with regard to this condition.

    I think there are numerous more pleasant

    times in the future for people who examine your website.

  17. Good info and straight to the point. I am not sure if this is

    in fact the best place to ask but do you people have any ideea where

    to employ some professional writers? Thank you 🙂

  18. A large percentage of of whatever you mention is astonishingly

    precise and that makes me ponder the reason why I
    hadn’t

    looked at this in this light before. Your piece truly did

    turn the light on for me personally as far as this specific subject goes. But there is one factor I am not too comfy with

    and while I make an effort to reconcile that with the core

    idea of the position, permit me observe just what all the

    rest of your readers have to point out.Well done.

  19. Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone

    4! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your

    posts! Keep up the fantastic work!

  20. Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thanks However

    I am experiencing situation with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable

    to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting an
    identical rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond.
    Thnkxxx

  21. I do consider all of the concepts you have

    introduced on your post. They’re very convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are very brief for newbies. May just you please lengthen them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

  22. Valuable information. Lucky me I discovered your website

    accidentally, and I am shocked why this

    coincidence did not took place earlier! I bookmarked it.

  23. wonderful put up, very informative. I wonder why the opposite experts of this sector don’t notice this. You must proceed your writing. I’m sure, you have a great readers’ base already!

  24. Hey very nice web site!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .
    . I’ll bookmark your

    website and take the feeds also…I’m happy to find a lot of
    useful

    info here in the post, we need work out more techniques in this
    regard, thanks for

    sharing. . . . . .

Comments are closed.